Washington D.C.
Gay Flag Football League
"Get off the bench and get in the game!"

Recreation League

The Recreation League is a supplemental league that runs in tandem to the regular league and is primarily for those who want to develop their skills, try new positions, or try out the DCGFFL for the first time.  The Recreation League is open to everyone, even those not playing in the regular season.  Email dcgayflagfootball@gmail.com for more information.


Captains and QBs
Captains will be veterans of the regular league. Previous captaining experience is not required.

Each team will have one or two QBs.  One QB may be a veteran QB who is or has QB’d in the regular league. This gives Rec players more consistent throws and play calling. The second QB is one who would like to QB for the regular league or would just like to try his or her hand at running an offense. Quarterbacks will switch every offensive series or half or as decided by the captains and QBs. However, secondary QBs must play at least one half if present.


Team Rosters

Yellow: Lane Marshall (Captain) and TJ Baggett/David Gottlieb (QB),

Blue: Brain Hotchkiss (Captain) and Kirk Yancy (QB)

Green: Jens Piferoen (Captain), Drew Halunen/Edward Guerra (QB)

Purple : Sam Brown (Captain) and Keaton Fedak/Bobby Bosfield (QB)

Restricted Players
Certain players (denoted on the team rosters with bold) are limited in the following ways:

1) They cannot play their normal offensive and/or defensive position
2) They may catch or intercept the ball, but they cannot advance it. Generally, these are players on a travel team or those who consistently obtain MVPs in the regular season.

The goal is to make the Recreation League a place where everyone has the chance to participate on both offense and defense.


Friday, October 20, 2017

Blue 32 – Yellow 19

MVPs: Kirk Yancey and TJ Baggett

Gameballs: Eli and Dana

Sportspersons: Rob W and Arash

Purple 6 – Green 18

MVPs: Stephanie and Joe L

Gameballs: Manny and Tim

Sportspersons: Kris and Hiran

Friday, October 27, 2017

Green 32 – Yellow 0 

MVPs: Jens and Long

Purple 6 – Blue 15

MVPs: Steph and PJ Morgan

Gameballs: Chris and Doug

Sportspersons: Sam B and Hotchkiss

Friday, November 3, 2017

Congratulations to the Green Team on winning Season XV’s Rec League Championship! Captain Jens Piferoren and quarterbacks Drew Halunen and Eddie Guerra led their speedy squad past the Blue team in a runaway victory.

If you’re on or have been on the same roster as — Tony Britford, Hiren Nisar, James Carter, Joseph Lee, Ibby Baig, Ed Cupailoi, Dave Moran, Jason Juffras, Natalie Shibley, or Bryan Jones — reach out and congratulate them on a season well-played.

Special thanks are due to Joe Heron, Peter Gately, Brandon Waggoner, Paul Guequierre, and Evan Binder for refereeing games and making the league possible.