These honors are awarded at the end of each football season to the players that best demonstrate those qualities of the award.

Charlie Salem Award

Members of the DCGFFL will be asked to vote for the Charlie Salem Award, the League’s highest honor. The Charlie Salem Award is given to the person who has impacted the success and perpetuity of the league, has demonstrated strong commitment to his/her team, and has embodied the attributes of a good sport. This person has also played the game skillfully and is a leader both on and off the field. Nominees will be suggested by the Captains.

Past Recipients    

2019 - Joe Heron
2018 - Brian Hotchkiss
2017 - Samuel Brown
2016 - Steve Gong
2015 - Sam Smallwood and Sean Wilkerson
2014 - Barry Mauck
2013 - Sean Bartel
2012 - Chris Cormier
2011 - Brandon Waggoner
2010 - JJ Johnson

John Boyd Ally Award

Boyd was an incredible ally to the community. Though he didn’t identify as LGBTQ+, he lifted our community up through his actions, leading on and off the field, and demonstrating all the best qualities of allyship. His big smile and bigger heart never failed to elevate and uplift his teammates in competitive camaraderie and fast friendship. This award is seasonally given to the player who best represents the qualities of an ally.

Michael “Snowy” Snowden Sportsmanship Award

Snowy demonstrated all the best qualities of a team player, on and off the field. He was a genuine joy to have on your team; he went out of his way to provide positive support to and be inclusive of not just his own team members, but everyone in the league whose path crossed his. This award is seasonally given to the player who best represent these qualities of sportsmanship.